This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

    Image caption appears here

    Add your deal, information or promotional text

    Vegan Eggnog: Homemade Dairy-Free Eggnog Recipe

    This festive holiday beverage is delicious but certainly non-vegan - it's got 'egg' right there in the name! Luckily, vegans can enjoy a warm or cold cup full of holiday cheer with our easy, plant-based, vegan eggnog recipe that blends together in less than 10 minutes.

    It comes as a surprise to almost no one that eggnog is full of dairy, and well - eggs. This tasty holiday favorite is rich, creamy, and decadent, fitting in quite well with the rest of the foods we tend to eat around our biggest celebrations. 

    Vegans shouldn't be left out of the festive cheer, so I created this plant-based recipe with all the classic version's flavor and depth. It's also an excellent option for anyone with a dairy or egg intolerance or allergy.

    Eggnog is a pretty heavy drink, and even if I weren't vegan, I'd probably still prefer this alternate vegan version of the recipe - it tastes just as good and doesn't leave me with a stomach ache afterward!

    We use full-fat coconut milk and homemade cashew milk to achieve the rich, creamy texture of eggnog and blend them with warm cinnamon and nutmeg spices, vanilla, and a little sweetness from pure maple syrup.

    You can drink as is, or splash in a bit of bourbon or spiced rum and top with fresh whipped coconut cream for an extra dash of Christmas magic!

    Blend this recipe up in less than ten minutes and serve it warm or chilled for all of your favorite holiday guests.

    What is Eggnog?

    This creamy winter beverage, also called egg milk punch, typically contains milk, eggs, cinnamon, nutmeg, sugar, and optional bourbon. 

    The drink originates from British aristocracy in the 1700s, who used it to toast to good health and prosperity as milk, eggs, and sherry, the standard ingredients, were all quite expensive.

    What Does Eggnog Taste Like?

    Eggnog tastes like thick, melted ice cream or thin, watery custard. It's sweet, thick, and has a strong cinnamon and nutmeg spiced flavor. 

    What is Vegan Eggnog Made of?

    Vegan eggnog might seem like a stretch, but it only requires a few simple ingredient substitutions with easy vegan alternatives.

    • Cow's milk quickly swaps out for plant-based milk, like cashew, almond, oat, macadamia.
    • Keep in mind that any non-dairy milk you use will alter the flavor slightly, but sometimes that can work in your favor and deepen the eggnog's taste.
    • We use a blend of cashew and almond, which adds a lot of richness, but oat milk could add an attractive earthy quality to the drink, too.  
    • There are plenty of ways to substitute flax eggs or other vegan egg options in baked recipes, but it's a little harder to find an adequate substitution for raw eggs in a beverage. Use full-fat coconut milk to add that thick, creamy quality that upgrades the drink from flavored milk to proper vegan eggnog.

      Vegetarian Eggnog - Nutritional Information

      Per ½ c. serving, without additional ingredients (coconut cream and bourbon)

      Calories: 117 kcals; Carbohydrates: 7.5 g; Protein: 1.1 g; Fat: 9.2 g; Sodium: 44 mg; Fiber: 0.3 g; Sugar: 5.2 g.

      Vegan Eggnog Recipe - FAQ

      Non-Dairy Eggnog Milk Options

      • We prefer to use homemade plant-based milk in our recipe as it's free from preservatives, and you can easily control the thickness.
      • You can also use straight almond, macadamia, soy, cashew, coconut, oat, rice - all of it works well!
      • You can use a store-bought variety for convenience, but be sure to get the unsweetened variety; otherwise, your vegan eggnog will end up too sweet!
      • If you can't find or don't have unsweetened milk, make the recipe without any maple syrup, and then add to taste at the end. 

      What alcohol goes in eggnog?

      • The traditional alcohol of choice to toss into eggnog is barrel-aged bourbon, which adds even more depth to the drink.
      • If you don't like bourbon, there are plenty of other delicious liquors to add instead.
      • Try white, dark, or spiced rum, brandy, cognac in your eggnog for a fun change. You don't need to use the top shelf varieties, as cheaper booze will taste just as good mixed into this vegan eggnog as the expensive stuff.
      • My favorite is Kraken, a vanilla-spiced rum that makes the eggnog a little extra spicy!

      How long does eggnog last?

      After you make your eggnog, you can store any leftovers in the fridge for up to 5 days. Shake your vegan eggnog well before serving, as the ingredients will start to separate as it sits. 

      You can also freeze the extra eggnog in an ice cube tray and store it for up to 1 month in the freezer.

      When you're ready to enjoy, simply put the cubes in a glass to melt, or heat them in a saucepan on the stove.

      Try placing your eggnog cubes in a cup of iced coffee or over an ounce or two of bourbon, and watch the cubes melt into a deliciously creamy beverage.

      Final Notes: Vegan Eggnog Recipe

      This vegan eggnog is the best way to start the holidays right, especially with an ounce or two of your favorite aged bourbon or rum. 

      Experiment with different non-dairy milk to find the combination that gives you the best flavor and texture, and though I prefer it cold, try heating it up to create a completely different-tasting drink!


      Leave a comment (all fields required)

      Comments will be approved before showing up.

      Add $35 more to get free shipping